Skip to content

Grant and contribution program

Contributions to support access to healthy foods in isolated northern communities

Department of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs · Northern and regional development

Headline figures

Fiscal year 2024–25

$175M

Up $29.0M from $146M in 2023–24.

$5.84per tax filer$4.25per person

Per tax filer uses 29,965,100 tax filers (2023, the latest count published); per person uses a population of 41,162,593 (2024). An allocation of cost, not a tax bill.

Contributions to support access to healthy foods in isolated northern communities, by fiscal year

Largest recipients

The largest named recipients of payments reported under this program in 2024–25. Location is the recipient's address, which is not always where the money is spent. Recipient payments can differ slightly from the program total above because the Public Accounts report them separately.

Largest recipients of Contributions to support access to healthy foods in isolated northern communities, 2024–25
RecipientLocationPaidPer tax filer
Les Consultants De L'Arctique Inc.Winnipeg, Manitoba$77.6M$2.59
Marche Daoust Inc.Winnipeg, Manitoba$27.3M$0.91
Pratt'S Ltd.Baie D'Urfe, Quebec$15.9M$0.53
Ben Deshaies Inc.Anjou, Quebec$5.0M$0.17
B.K. Mackinnons IncSalaberry-De-Valleyfield, Quebec$4.2M$0.14
Meechim North 2000 Inc.Winnipeg, Manitoba$2.8M$0.09
Harris Meats And Groceries Inc.Amos, Quebec$2.0M$0.07
Gp2UClairmont, Alberta$1.1M$0.04
Arctic Co-Operatives Ltd.Location not stated$993K$0.03
Payments under $100,000 (28)Location not stated$956K$0.03

Source and basis

← All Northern and regional development spending