Skip to content

Grant and contribution program

Contributions to Veterans, under the Veterans Independence Program, to assist in defraying costs of extended health care not covered by provincial health programs

Department of Veterans Affairs · Veterans

In fiscal year 2024–25, Department of Veterans Affairs paid out $71.7 million under Contributions to Veterans, under the Veterans Independence Program, to assist in defraying costs of extended health care not covered by provincial health programs, up from $65.5 million in 2023–24. That is $2.39 per tax filer.

Headline figures

Fiscal year 2024–25

$71.7M

Up $6.2M from $65.5M in 2023–24.

$2.39per tax filer$1.74per person

Per tax filer uses 29,965,100 tax filers (2023, the latest count published); per person uses a population of 41,162,593 (2024). An allocation of cost, not a tax bill.

Contributions to Veterans, under the Veterans Independence Program, to assist in defraying costs of extended health care not covered by provincial health programs, by fiscal year. Latest year highlighted.
Show these figures as a table
Contributions to Veterans, under the Veterans Independence Program, to assist in defraying costs of extended health care not covered by provincial health programs, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearSpending
2023–24$65.5M
2024–25$71.7M

Largest recipients

The largest named recipients of payments reported under this program in 2024–25. Location is the recipient's address, which is not always where the money is spent. Recipient payments can differ slightly from the program total above because the Public Accounts report them separately.

Largest recipients of Contributions to Veterans, under the Veterans Independence Program, to assist in defraying costs of extended health care not covered by provincial health programs, 2024–25
RecipientLocationPaidPer tax filer
Payments under $100,000 (8,141)Location not stated$55.6M$1.85
Names Withheld (98 recipients)Location not stated$16.1M$0.54

Source and basis

← All veterans spendingHow the figures are calculated