Skip to content

Grant and contribution program

Pain and Suffering Compensation

Department of Veterans Affairs · Veterans

In fiscal year 2024–25, Department of Veterans Affairs paid out $2.3 billion under Pain and Suffering Compensation, up from $1.6 billion in 2023–24. That is $76.95 per tax filer.

Headline figures

Fiscal year 2024–25

$2.3B

Up $697M from $1.6B in 2023–24.

$76.95per tax filer$56.02per person

Per tax filer uses 29,965,100 tax filers (2023, the latest count published); per person uses a population of 41,162,593 (2024). An allocation of cost, not a tax bill.

Pain and Suffering Compensation, by fiscal year. Latest year highlighted.
Show these figures as a table
Pain and Suffering Compensation, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearSpending
2023–24$1.6B
2024–25$2.3B

Largest recipients

The largest named recipients of payments reported under this program in 2024–25. Location is the recipient's address, which is not always where the money is spent. Recipient payments can differ slightly from the program total above because the Public Accounts report them separately.

Largest recipients of Pain and Suffering Compensation, 2024–25
RecipientLocationPaidPer tax filer
Names Withheld (8,000 recipients)Location not stated$1.5B$48.69
Payments under $100,000 (71,210)Location not stated$847M$28.26

Source and basis

← All veterans spendingHow the figures are calculated