Skip to content

Grant and contribution program

Pensions for disability and death, including pensions granted under the authority of the Civilian Government Employees (War) Compensation Order, P.C. 45/8848 of November 22, 1944, which shall be subject to the Pension Act; for former prisoners of war under the Pension Act, and Newfoundland special awards

Department of Veterans Affairs · Veterans

In fiscal year 2024–25, Department of Veterans Affairs paid out $993 million under Pensions for disability and death, including pensions granted under the authority of the Civilian Government Employees (War) Compensation Order, P.C. 45/8848 of November 22, 1944, which shall be subject to the Pension Act; for former prisoners of war under the Pension Act, and Newfoundland special awards, down from $1.0 billion in 2023–24. That is $33.14 per tax filer.

Headline figures

Fiscal year 2024–25

$993M

Down $19.1M from $1.0B in 2023–24.

$33.14per tax filer$24.12per person

Per tax filer uses 29,965,100 tax filers (2023, the latest count published); per person uses a population of 41,162,593 (2024). An allocation of cost, not a tax bill.

Pensions for disability and death, including pensions granted under the authority of the Civilian Government Employees (War) Compensation Order, P.C. 45/8848 of November 22, 1944, which shall be subject to the Pension Act; for former prisoners of war under the Pension Act, and Newfoundland special awards, by fiscal year. Latest year highlighted.
Show these figures as a table
Pensions for disability and death, including pensions granted under the authority of the Civilian Government Employees (War) Compensation Order, P.C. 45/8848 of November 22, 1944, which shall be subject to the Pension Act; for former prisoners of war under the Pension Act, and Newfoundland special awards, by fiscal year
Fiscal yearSpending
2023–24$1.0B
2024–25$993M

Largest recipients

The largest named recipients of payments reported under this program in 2024–25. Location is the recipient's address, which is not always where the money is spent. Recipient payments can differ slightly from the program total above because the Public Accounts report them separately.

Largest recipients of Pensions for disability and death, including pensions granted under the authority of the Civilian Government Employees (War) Compensation Order, P.C. 45/8848 of November 22, 1944, which shall be subject to the Pension Act; for former prisoners of war under the Pension Act, and Newfoundland special awards, 2024–25
RecipientLocationPaidPer tax filer
Payments under $100,000 (68,630)Location not stated$990M$33.04
Names withheld (25 recipients)Location not stated$3.0M$0.10

Source and basis

← All veterans spendingHow the figures are calculated